There are 8 cardinal virtues, each divided into 4 subvirtues. A few things before we get into this. I want to make it clear that I'm still philosophizing, and I am not 100% sure about all of these. My philosophies do change from time to time (you can see examples in the update log at the root page), and so I'm not certain that the below list is entirely correct. Also, I realize that some of their names may not seem to fit too well. This is because English was not invented by Protagonists, and so there often isn't a word that represents the virtue exactly. I've labeled them with clear descriptions. Finally, note that the amount of credit you get is always directly proportional to the amount of temptation overcome (ie. the amount of pleasure, happiness and fun sacrificed). No temptation, no virtue. Now that all that's out of the way, the virtues are as follows:

  1. Piety
  2. Mysticism
  3. Justice
  4. Zeal
  5. Stolidity
  6. Kindness
  7. Courage
  8. Endurance

Footnote on Adventurousness: Understood properly, this is a statement about the relationship of the three amoral pursuables. Sacrificing pleasure or happiness for adventure (which is a form of fun) gives Fuiki (aka is morally admirable). This is the case even when no other moral concerns in either direction are involved.

Footnote on Sanctity: Sad art (such as tragic stories and lamenting music) is slightly holier because it shadows emotions that are inherently holy (due to the inherently moral nature of their causes, even if they can be misguided), such as sympathy as shame. Doki Doki Literature Club is one example, as is much of Erang's music. The only reason it isn't a bigger factor is because good art is fun to experience, which - as per the temptation proportionality principle - mitigates the moral superiority.

Footnote on Retribution: "Repent" means to seek redemption. Also, while a "moral crime" is generally an act that infringes against an innocent person, it doesn't strictly have to be. Sufficiently malicious words are one thing that could warrant a punch in some situations, for example. Emotivism (see below on the list) is highly relevant.

Footnote on Fecundity: An example of this could be a parent refusing to give their toddler ice cream. Even if the cost of replacing the ice cream is extremely low and the child really cares about it, if you let someone live their formative years always getting everything they want, they might develop into a weak (lacking Endurance) and entitled person. Suffering in moderate amounts can make a person better, and so of course it's good to do it ways that don't involve violating the target's rights.

Footnote on Ardence: This might seem like a crazy thing to count as a virtue. But there are two things to realize. First of all, there is incentive not to do this that doesn't fall under self-consciousness (which would be the territory of Boldness): it can take energy to express emotion sometimes. Second, this does have a practical effect that is beneficial to the forces of good: showing an emotion often helps others to feel it as well. Applied well, the virtue of Ardence can help inspire people to feel the anger they need to overcome their fear, for example.

Footnote on Emotivism: A good example of this being done right is in chapter 4 of Pillars of Life. There the heroes attempt an operation that serves no significant purpose beyond a symbolic victory and seems far too risky to be worth it. Under normal circumstances, this would be bad, but in their situation, there really wasn't anything else they could do. It was either that or continue to live in submission and do nothing after the government murdered their friend. Their choice was morally right, because it was brave and served the good person's inherent need to do something. Another way of looking at it is that doing nothing would ruin them as people.

Footnote on Faith: An example of something your conscience tells you to believe is given in my article on the immaterial soul. The reason is because the idea of a material mind actually breaks morality, and your conscience knows this, even if you haven't consciously realized why. Also, I think this includes "self-evident" or "necessary" beliefs like the reliability of one's own reason.

Footnote on Rationality: Note the implication that reason is a part of conscience. For convenience, I often use the word to refer to "conscience except reason", such as in the definition for Faith.

Footnote on Objectivity: This virtue specifically applies to situations where Courage and Endurance don't; eg. don't do something strategically disadvantageous so that you get to play the more fun role in a battle against evil.

Footnote on Honesty: Omitting the truth in situations where the other person would want to hear it counts as dishonesty. Also protecting others' feelings by witholding information that might be hurtful does not count as a consequential reason. A good person values knowing the truth over being happy and would be insulted by their friend lying or keeping secrets from them for such a reason. A bad person doesn't deserve to have their wishes respected in this way, and so the result is the same.

Now, you may think a lot of these things are amoral qualities. That's because you were raised in a world where the forces of evil (who literally rule said world) have been trying to reduce our idea of morality to just 'don't hurt others' for a long time, and they have been quite successful. Luckily, we all have conscience. So listen to yours, and see if it seems more noble to you to have these qualities than to not.